About BFFA


Educational System In Nigeria In A Nutshell

If you want to read the full version of this article, then click here.


The educational system in Nigeria consists of the following stages:

  • Kindergarten**: 2 years (not compulsory!)
  • Primary School: 6 years (compulsory education)
  • Secondary School**: 6 years (Education at this level consists of two phases - Junior Secondary School and Senior Secondary School. Each phase lasts 3 years and is rounded up with exams after which certificates are issued to the students.
  • University or Polytechnic** with the corresponding degrees

Parents and students do not receive financial support from the government in those areas of education marked with asterisks. Even the primary school education which is compulory and which is supposed to be free is not completely free as parents are made to pay one levy or the other from time to time.

Due to lack of fund, children from poor families neither attend nursery schools nor further their education after leaving primary schools. In view of this, these young children - most of them are 12 years old when they leave primary schools - are forced to start fending for themselves. Some even assume the additional responsibilities of caring for their parents at this early age. Needless to say that the struggle to earn their livelihood at this premature age exposes them to great dangers and untold hardship.

--- I Up I Home I Contact I © by BFFA